UC Elections August 2018

We expect all members of our community to adhere to the highest standards of behavior during User Committee elections.


Chandan Kumar - chkumar246 at gmail dot com
Ed Leafe - ed at leafe dot com
Mohamed Elsakhawy - m2elsakha at gmail dot com

Election System

Elections will be held using CIVS and a Condorcet algorithm (Schulze/Beatpath/CSSD variant). Any tie will be broken using Governance/TieBreaking.


August 6 - August 17, 05:59 UTC: Open candidacy for UC positions
August 20 - August 24, 11:59 UTC: UC elections (voting)

Elected Positions

Under the rules of the UC charter, we need to elect 2 UC seats for this election. Seats are valid for one-year term. User Committee member - 2 positions.


The electorate for this election are the Foundation individual members that are also Active User Contributors (AUC) over the last six months. The electorate is requested to confirm their email address and (if applicable) IRC handle in their Foundation Member Profile, https://openstack.org/profile , prior to August 13, 2018 05:59 UTC so that the emailed ballots are mailed to the correct email address.


Any individual member of the Foundation who is an Active User Contributor (AUC) can propose their candidacy (except the three sitting UC members elected in the previous election).

Self-nomination is common, no third party nomination is required. They do so by sending an email to the user-committee@lists.openstack.org mailing-list, with the subject: “UC candidacy” by August 17, 05:59 UTC. The email can include a description of the candidate platform. The candidacy is then confirmed by one of the election officials, after verification of the electorate status of the candidate.


The two nominated candidates were selected since they ran unopposed.

Matt Van Winkle
Joseph Sandoval